Two thirty-one…and a half?

What’s up fam!

Well, it’s been a good week. Lots of miracles & lots of growth. I
think that’s one of the greatest things about a mission, or really
even just about life – we never stop growing and learning. I’m
grateful for the experiences and opportunities the Lord gave me this
week to do just that.

So for those of you who read these regularly (thanks Mom and Dad and a
few others), you’ll remember Shaq, the seventeen year old who I
accidentally said was sixteen in my last letter. Well he is enjoying
learning about the gospel and loves church on Sunday’s. We taught him
the commandments this past week and I was excited to see his reaction
as he learned about Gods love for him in giving the commandments. At
the end of the discussion, he just had an extra shine to his eyes as
he said, “man, I’m just so fired up for my baptism and to change!”
When he said that I was like YES! He gets it! It’s not just about
baptism or living commandments or doing what we’re supposed to, it’s
about changing. In order to grow, we need to change and I’m so excited
that he really gets it and that he’s excited to be able to change
because of the Savior.

Last week we got a referral to go meet someone that another set of
missionaries met in a different city. They said she seems really
interested and accepted a Book of Mormon and gave us her address.
Except when we looked at the address it looked kinda odd, it was 231
1/2 “A” street. Like it literally said 231 and a half… We were like
uhhh is this a joke? But we went to that road and looked around and
ended up just knocking on house 231 because we thought it might be
her. It wasn’t, but we’re now teaching that household which is pretty
neat and guess what…. Behind that house, there’s a little house in
the ally and it legit had the numbers 231 1/2 on the front! So we did
find her and it all ended well but it was a good adventure getting
there!

We’re also teaching this lady named Helen. Let me tell you a little
about Helen… She’s a boss. So we usually have lessons out on her
porch and I want you to picture this – eighty year old woman with a
cane – and she has this wasp nest on her porch so when the wasps come
out when we’re there, she whacks them with her bare hand and then when
they fall to the ground, she smashes them with her cane. Straight
savage! And sister Taotafa and I just stand there and cringe every
time we see one haha we’re wimps and Helen laughs at us. But we love
her and she’s awesome. Keep her in your prayers!

I came across a quote this week that was given to me by the late
Sister Jensen, now referred to as Sarah, and I wanted to share it with
you because I really love it! “The first test of a truly great man is
his humility. I do not mean by humility, doubt of his own power. But
really great men have a curious feeling that greatness is not in them,
but through them. And they see something divine in every other man,
and are endlessly, foolishly, incredibly merciful.” Im grateful I can
recognize the influence of the Spirit in our day to day miracles and
know that it’s only when we can get out of the way that Christ is able
to work through us and through us, people we come in contact with can
feel Christs love for them and have a desire to change because of it.

I hope you all have a great week! Love you guys!

Sister Wade

chelsea-sept-19-2016-1
found another Kansas ! Can’t miss the photo op
chelsea-sept-19-2016-2
JC District
chelsea-sept-19-2016-3
Sister Taotafa and I mid song, obviously really feelin it. I’m never brave enough to actually send the videos I take these screenshots from haha for good reasons.

 

chelsea-sept-19-2016-4
Today’s adventures at Milton State park//lake (:

 

chelsea-sept-19-2016-5chelsea-sept-19-2016-6chelsea-sept-19-2016-7

Leave a Reply

