Little Piece of Africa in the Heartland of America

Hey everyone! What’s up?

I hope you’ve all had a great week! This week has been sunny and oddly
not too chilly yet! Probably just jinxed it, but I’ve really been
enjoying the not warm but not too cold either weather we’ve been
having. Anyways, We had a lot of great experiences with people we’re
teaching, had some training given by leaders in our mission, and of
course had some good laughs with Sister Pedersen this week. I really
enjoyed the training we had on Friday, it was very inspiring and I’ve
been working on a few more things since then. I love and appreciate
that the gospel of Jesus Christ is all about changing and progressing.
There is always SO much room for growth and improvement.

This past week Sister Pedersen and I were sick and that was a bit
rough, only because mentally we were ready to go out and get work
done! But physically we were drained. It was kinda comedic how one of
us would be feeling better one day then the next we’d both feel crummy
again and then the next day the other one of us would be feeling
better, then both crummy again the next day. It was a vicious cycle.
But fingers crossed we’re coming to the end of being sick. And
throughout the week, despite our sickness, we were still able to see
miracles and I am so grateful for that. Tender mercies!

Marcel, Oliver, and Zawadi are amazing as always. They have embraced
the gospel so fully and their family is more united than ever and it’s
such a blessing to be able to see that. I love the happiness that the
gospel of Jesus Christ brings to people, there’s nothing else like it!
We are also working with another Swahili family – Eric, Dafeene (not
sure how it’s spelt), and their four kids. I think I’ve talked about
them before but we had lost contact with them for awhile and finally
saw them again this week. They are such a wonderful family and I love
getting to teach and meet with them. Although they know even less
English than Marcel and his family, we are able to teach them because
Jolie translates like she did when we were teaching Marcel and his
fam. Jolie is heaven sent. And we had a scare early this week because
she moved out of our ward boundaries so we thought she wouldn’t be
able to teach with us anymore. But I’ll get to that in a sec. Anyways,
I honestly wish more than anything I could speak Swahili so I could
communicate with all these people we meet, but since that’s not
happening I’m just glad we have Jolie to translate for us. It’s so
fun, this small area we work in is like a little piece of Africa in
Kansas. I love it.

Okay, quick story. On Tuesday we were in a meeting with some other
missionaries when I noticed on our phone that we had a missed call and
voicemail from President Bell, our mission president. Now, when you
get a call from the president of the mission you can’t help but freak
out a little. He has a lot of people he works through and so he rarely
needs to make any personal calls himself. So it’s understandable as to
why I freaked out a bit when I saw the missed call. Sister Pedersen
and I excused ourselves quickly and walked outside to listen to the
voicemail and call him back. The voicemail was brief and simply told
us to call him back as soon as we get the message. So That doesn’t
calm my nerves too much. We call him back and…. He just wanted to
tell us that even though Jolie moved out of our ward boundaries, she
would still be in our ward. I was so relieved! Not only that Jolie was
still in our ward, but that that’s why he called! AND he told us that
he had talked to our stake president and he’d told Prez that if we
find a few more people who speak Swahili, they will make a Swahili
branch so they can attend church in their native language! How sick
would that be!? A Swahili branch in the middle of Kansas. So awesome.
Oh sorry if some of you aren’t following the terms I’m using. A ward
is the word we use for congregation, a stake is made up of multiple
wards, and a branch is a smaller version of a ward, it’s just not as
big as a ward. So yeah, the vision is to have a Swahili branch in the
next few months. I’m sure once Eric and Dafeene’s family get baptized,
it’ll happen so I’m really excited for that. Haha I said quick story
and this is days long… Whoops! But pretty sweet huh!? So please keep
Eric and Dafeene’s family in your prayers!

Well, I’m looking forward to another amazing week and I hope you’re
all doing well! Remember that there’s so many beautiful reasons to be
happy and to never stop showing your gratitude for the many wonderful
blessings we receive. Love you all and make this a week to remember!

-Sister Chelsea Wade

chelsea nov 9 2015 2

Pictures from Marcel, Zawadi, and Oliver's baptism! Such an amazing day!
Pictures from Marcel, Zawadi, and Oliver’s baptism! Such an amazing day!
Sister Pedersen and I enjoying our week of walking in our area. So many gorgeous trees!
Sister Pedersen and I enjoying our week of walking in our area. So many gorgeous trees!
And two of Eric and Dafeene's kids, Jovanz and Timothy, and Oliver after church yesterday. They wanted to take a picture haha I absolutely love them. And excuse my chinky eyes.
And two of Eric and Dafeene’s kids, Jovanz and Timothy, and Oliver after church yesterday. They wanted to take a picture haha I absolutely love them. And excuse my chinky eyes.
And lastly, a picture of our WHOLE mission family! #rare #bestmissionintheworld #iwasntready #findwaldoakafindsisterwade
And lastly, a picture of our WHOLE mission family! #rare #bestmissionintheworld #iwasntready #findwaldoakafindsisterwade
Leave a Reply

