It’s a Girl!

Hello family & friends!

This week has been A M A Z I N G . So many miracles and so many
awesome experiences! We’ve still been covering two areas so theres
never been a dull moment and it’s been awesome! Also, I hit my three
month mark on Thursday and officially finished training on saturday!
It does not feel like I’ve been out three months..

A really huge few days ago we were working in Andover (our other area)
the whole day and after dinner, we came here to Ridgepoint to do some
work. We were definitely feeling a sense of urgency since we knew we
wouldn’t have much time to get things done but we felt we should go
see a recent convert, Jolie, who I’ve talked about before. She is the
one who came from Africa with her two children about eight months ago
and long story short, she’s awesome. But we had been trying to see her
for the past few weeks with no luck because her schedule has just been
all over the place so when we pulled up to her apartment and she was
outside we were so excited! So we started talking to her outside and
was seeing how she was doing when one of her friends , whom we’ve
never met, walks up and joins our conversation. She introduces herself
as Sawadi, which means gift in English. Isn’t that pretty!? She’s from
Africa as well and only knows a tiny bit of English. But Jolie was
translating for us and we were telling her who we are and then we
remembered that we just so happen to have a Book of Mormon in Swahili
in the car so I went back and grabbed a couple and gave her one and
her son who had walked up a little after wanted one too. We end up
going to Jolie’s apartment and teaching her about the Book of Mormon
and restoration of the gospel and she was so excited to learn about
these things and so we set up another time we could visit and as we
are doing this, there’s a knock at Jolie’s door and our investigator
Felicity walks in! So as Sawadi and her son are leaving, Felicity
comes in and we share a message with her and see how she’s doing and
then there’s another knock at the door! And it’s Belle! A woman we’ve
taught in the past but we had lost track of because we couldn’t find
where she lives. And she comes walking through the door! Sister
Domingo and I just look at each other with the same expression,
thinking “is this really happening!?” So within a two hour period,
without even moving because this whole time we are in Jolie’s
apartment.. we had three different lessons with different people and
in the process, found a former investigator and began teaching her
again, found two new investigators who are really interested in
learning more, and had some really spiritual lessons. Isn’t that crazy
awesome!? Such a cool experience!

Also yesterday our investigator Melinda came to church for the first
time and it was such a good experience for her! I was so happy! At
first it sounded like she may not be there, because she told us she’d
woken up late and hadn’t gone to church in a long time so wasn’t sure
where her church clothes were but she totally made it and it was
awesome! She said she felt the spirit strongly and is looking forward
to going again next Sunday. She was also able to meet Bishop Ashby and
our Stake President talked in sacrament meeting so she met him too.
I’d say that’s a pretty awesome first experience at church. But keep
her in your prayers as she continues progressing! She is such a
sweetheart and has a strong desire to grow closer to Christ.

Well, another transfer has come and gone and a lot of exciting things
are happening! For one I’m staying here in Ridgepoint so I am SO happy
for that. I honestly love these people so much and they’ve truly
become family. Best ward in the mission (and I can say that because
this is the only ward I’ve been in so far)! And another crazy,
exciting thing…. Last night I received a phone call from the
Assistant to the president of our mission (the AP’s), and they told me
I have been called to be a trainer this next transfer! I’m gonna be a
mom! Haha in mission terms, when you’re called to be a trainer, your
trainee is called your daughter and you are their parent. Kinda funny
huh? Oh and that’s why my subject is what it is, I’m not really prego
or having a girl… But anyways,when I got the phone call  I was
shocked speechless. So many thoughts running through my mind and so
many emotions going through me. It’s funny because Sister Domingo and
Sister Patterson kept telling me I’ll train after I’m done with
training and I just kept brushing xit off thinking yeah right that’ll
never happen. So when I got the call last night I didn’t even know
what to say. But in all honesty, I am so excited for this opportunity.
I’m humbled to know that the Lord trusts me enough to train another
missionary and I just hope I can share my love and passion for this
great work being done here with her and that I’ll be able to help her
learn and adapt to missionary life like Sister Domingo did for me.
This will be an exciting adventure and I know I’ll learn and grow so
much during this experience. Can’t believe this is real life! I’m
really training! Man, the weight of this responsibility is really
sinking in haha but I know I can do this. God wouldn’t give me
something I can’t handle and if there’s anything I’ve learned so far,
it’s to trust God with all things. So that’s what I’m going to do! I’m
going to give my all and do my very best and let God do the rest.
Looking forward to this next chapter of my mission!

Have an amazing week and thanks for the continuous love and support I
can feel from all of you! Love you!

Had zone pday last Monday and it was so fun! We played volleyball for 5 straight hours & it was so hilarious waking up the next morning and none of us could even move we were so sore haha work hard, play hard.
Had zone pday last Monday and it was so fun! We played volleyball for 5 straight hours & it was so hilarious waking up the next morning and none of us could even move we were so sore haha work hard, play hard.

 

 

Don't know why I always like the dysfunctional pictures, but here's my awesome district!
Don’t know why I always like the dysfunctional pictures, but here’s my awesome district!
Selfie with a goat
Selfie with a goat
These are my favorite kids ever! They are the grandchildren of a less active member we visit and I absolutely solute lay love them. They're so fun!
These are my favorite kids ever! They are the grandchildren of a less active member we visit and I absolutely solute lay love them. They’re so fun!
We were dying in the car during one of our videos. Like tears were flowing we were laughing so hard. I'm going to miss these sisters so much!
We were dying in the car during one of our videos. Like tears were flowing we were laughing so hard. I’m going to miss these sisters so much!

chelsea sept 14 2015 5

chelsea sept 14 2015 6

There's been some pretty amazing sunsets lately so of course I had to take pictures of them!
There’s been some pretty amazing sunsets lately so of course I had to take pictures of them!

 

 

Leave a Reply

