Love, Laughs, and Lasagna

Heyyyy what’s up!

My goodness it’s been a CRAZY good week. So since being in a trio, we are covering two areas – still here in Ridgepoint and now we’re also in Andover. Which is about thirty minutes from Ridgepoint. So it’s been an adventure trying to do everything we normally do but in both areas and I can’t even tell you how much we’ve driven. Liiiike just this past week, we’ve driven close to 350 miles. Not even kidding. I just checked. But anyways, with twice the area to cover we’ve definitely seen twice the miracles and it’s been so amazing.
Alright soooo highlight of the week was Definitely Miriam. She is originally from France but moved here fifteen years ago and something that’s really cool is that before coming here to the United States, she actually met missionaries in France and when she moved here, she prayed that she would find missionaries again so she could continue learning aaaaaand she did! She’s gone back and forth with wanting to get baptized yet always backs out last minute for one reason or another. There are missionaries that have worked with her for awhile yet she’s always had something holding her back. But guess what… She’s totally getting baptized this weekend! We met with her, knocked out any and all of her concerns, and committed her to getting baptized this weekend. I’m so stoked for her! She is honestly one of the most loving people I’ve ever met and she is so ready to get baptized. She is so sweet and caring and the gospel is going to give her the peace and comfort she’s been looking for in this world.
Another awesome thing this week was Stake Conference. IT WAS SO GOOD. For those who don’t know, that’s when all the congregations in our area meet together at the same time and listen to speakers chosen for this meeting. The topics talked about were so inspired and so SO good. And I loved that sharing the gospel was a major theme! One thing that really stuck out to me is the importance of having a perfect brightness of hope (2 Nephi 31:20). I love that phrase, perfect brightness of hope. Another word for perfect is complete, so really it’s having a complete hope which is something I am working on. Sometimes I become discouraged when things aren’t happening the way I want it to and only look at the things we didn’t accomplish but in reality, I know that God is happy seeing the improvement and effort we make. Yes we have a long way to go, but that’s why we shouldn’t ever give up hope. To me, having a perfect brightness of hope means having complete faith and hope that everything will happen in the time it’s meant to. So yeah, loved the reminders and spiritually uplifting messages shared at conference this past weekend. Good stuff!
Alright so to be honest, I was a little nervous about being in a trio but I feel silly for ever feeling that way because it’s so awesome. Sister Patterson has fit right into our companionship and we are continuing to have fun as we work our hardest. We laugh, cry (from laughing so hard), study, eat, work, and by the end of the day are exhausted but it feels so good because I know we’re doing good work! Oh and also, since we are covering two areas and they’re not near each other, we get a car full time for the rest of the transfer (thanks sister p)! So no biking for at least the next couple weeks! Woo! It’s a lot more time efficient having a car and I’m appreciating it a lot more since we’re use to giving up the car every other week. Just one of the many tender mercies we’ve been receiving!
Okay quick funny story then I promise I’ll be done. So on Thursday, we had a dinner in both areas and instead of canceling one of them we decided to just have two dinners! At the time it seemed like a good idea. Anyways, we eat at the first and we have lasagna and the member makes a comment about how we probably have lasagna all the time and so I thought about it and realized I hadn’t had lasagna at all yet. So first time eating lasagna out on the mission and I’ve been out almost three months. She seemed surprised but then we didn’t think much of it for the rest of the meal. Then we go straight to our other dinner and you’ll never guess what we had.. Yeup, lasagna! Haha so first day having lasagna out here and we have it twice in one day. Not complaining though! It was good lasagna. Oh and then we had lasagna again last night… Lasagna all day every day!
I know I say this all the time, but this week really went by way too quick. Only have a couple weeks left in the transfer so I really hope it slows down a bit so I can just take it all in and not just blink and it be another week. I guess it’s a bittersweet thing, having the weeks go by so fast, because it’s better than weeks dragging on and on but if time could slow down just a little that’d be great. I feel I’m at home here, the members are my family and I truly love every person we’re working with. I’m so grateful I haven’t had to struggle along these first couple months and that I’ve had so much support from family, friends, Sister Domingo and other missionaries, leaders, and of course my Savior Jesus Christ. Christ is the reason I’m here. And as I continue to work towards being more like Him, I can feel the same Christlike love he has for these people here in Kansas and I can feel his unconditional love for me as I improve myself day by day.
What a blessing it is to be serving the One who has given me everything in my life. I know my service is a small crumb compared to the service he has done for all of us but I also know that by small and simple means are great things brought to pass. It’s the small things. If we’re all doing what we can to serve others and bring them closer to Christ, it’ll make a difference. Individually we can’t do much, but through Christ we can change lives and bring them true happiness.
I love all of you and I’m grateful for the many examples I have in my life (yes, I’m talking about you). Make it an awesome week!
Oh and here’s some pictures

chelsea aug 31 2015 1-1

One of our favorite things to do on our long car rides is sing the songs we're listening to as if our lives depend on it. These are originally from videos but I screenshot some dysfunctional/intense moments of the vids.
One of our favorite things to do on our long car rides is sing the songs we’re listening to as if our lives depend on it. These are originally from videos but I screenshot some dysfunctional/intense moments of the vids.
& this is when I had to make somewhat of a sharp turn so Sister Patterson went flying to the side and I got a lot of sun in my eyes haha
& this is when I had to make somewhat of a sharp turn so Sister Patterson went flying to the side and I got a lot of sun in my eyes haha

chelsea aug 31 2015 1-4

This week we stopped by a birthday party for one of the kids in the ward and they let us hit the piñata! I quickly became the least favorite party crasher when I hit the piñata and it fell to the ground, temporarily breaking it. Luckily Brother Couey came to the rescue and fixed it, it coulda been a lot worse.
This week we stopped by a birthday party for one of the kids in the ward and they let us hit the piñata! I quickly became the least favorite party crasher when I hit the piñata and it fell to the ground, temporarily breaking it. Luckily Brother Couey came to the rescue and fixed it, it coulda been a lot worse.

 

chelsea aug 31 2015 1

chelsea aug 31 2015 2

Me and my awesome comps! & yes we are matching from head to toe (even our socks)
Me and my awesome comps! & yes we are matching from head to toe (even our socks)

chelsea aug 31 2015 5

aaaan my email wouldn't be complete without some pictures of the beautiful Kansas scenery!
aaaan my email wouldn’t be complete without some pictures of the beautiful Kansas scenery!

-Sister Wade

Leave a Reply

