Then there were Three

Hello all!

This past week was a good week! We accomplished a lot and had fun in the process so what more can you really ask for? Also we found out some exciting stuff yesterday but I’ll get to that in a sec.
If I had to describe this week in one word, it would be service. Now I know that being on a mission in and of itself is service, but we did a lot of physical service this week.  We had the opportunity to clean the house of someone who is handicapped, organize the workspace of a woman who has wanted to do that for a long time but was to overwhelmed to start, vacuum and clean the car of a sister who is physically unable to do so herself, help paint a daycare which would have otherwise taken her days to do herself and so on. I love giving service because I love the people we’re serving more deeply as we serve them and I understand their needs better. And it never feels one sided, I even feel like I gain more from our service experiences than the people we serve. It’s funny to see some people’s reactions when we thank them for letting us serve them. They get confused and the look they’re giving us is like why are you thanking me for letting you work? But honestly, It’s very humbling to be able to help someone in need because I know that God often works through other people to help us in times of need. President Spencer W. Kimball once said, “God does notice us, and he watches over us. But it is usually through another person that he meets our needs.” And I know that is true. We are instruments in Gods hands and when we serve others, we are also serving him.
So something we’ve really been focusing on is strengthening the members and seeing them on a weekly basis to share a short message and encourage them in their own missionary efforts. I’ve really enjoyed doing this because we can tell that it’s giving them greater confidence to share the gospel themselves. Of course, this is something we’ve only recently started doing so their hasn’t been too much that’s happened as a result of it as far as finding more people to teach. But it’s been a really cool experience to see the members of our ward excited to share their missionary opportunities and to see their willingness to share their testimony with the people they know. I know that as members of the church, we are all missionaries and that we all know people who are prepared to learn and be taught the gospel of Jesus Christ. So look for that person in your own life! I know you’ll find them as you pray and take every opportunity God places in front of you.
Okay, so yesterday during our dinner we had a missed call and voicemail from one of our mission presidents assistants and all he said is to call him back asap and it’s urgent.. So we of course freaked out a little because we had no idea what he was going to say and we excused ourselves from dinner for a minute to quickly call him back and guess what! We’re gonna be a trio for the rest of the transfer! Later today we’re picking up the other sister and I’m really excited to meet her! It’ll be different having three of us around here but it’ll be a party every day for sure.
Well you guys got lucky this week, my email isn’t a novel haha but this week try to find opportunities to serve and I know you’ll not only find those opportunities but that you’ll gain a lot from making the effort to serve others. I love you all so much and have the best week ever!
Here’s some picsss
Most delicious pizza I've ever had in my life
Most delicious pizza I’ve ever had in my life
Pretty skies
Pretty skies

chelsea aug 24 2015 3

chelsea aug 24 2015 4

Some pics from our professional painting days. I promise we really did work and not just take pics.
Some pics from our professional painting days. I promise we really did work and not just take pics.

-Sister Chelsea Wade

Leave a Reply

