Miracles in the Heartland

Heyyyy friends & fam!

How is everyone doing!? This week has been crazy. I feel like there’s always so much to share with not nearly enough time to share it all. But to say the least, there’s not a day that goes by that I’m not humbled through experiences that we have and blessed through the miracles we see and the things I’m learning. Something I’ve been working on is getting out of my comfort zone (which isn’t hard to do as a missionary) and I’ve had some pretty sweet experiences as I’ve done this. I’ll share a couple highlights from this past week!
This last Tuesday we had the privilege of taking two new missionaries out their first day here and what an experience! We picked them up in the afternoon and had them until dinner. It was so fun being on the other side of it, because it was really only six weeks before that that had been me. I was definitely way nervous because I knew that this was going to be their very first mission experience and they’d remember this day forever. And I’m not even being dramatic, because I know I’ll remember my first day here forever (no pressure right?). So needless to say, I said a lot of prayers that they would have a positive, spiritual experience and be able to look back on their first day here and love it. I was assigned to be with a cute sister named Sister Birks and Sister Domingo had a sister from Hawaii named Sister Tafua. It was so fun getting to know them and to be able to feel their testimonies and excitement! And I honestly know that theres a reason I was paired with Sister Birks and that President Bell and his assistants are truly guided when making these assignments because she had a lot of the same concerns I had when I first came out so I was able to really connect with her and hopefully extinguish some of those fears.
When we got to our area after picking them up, we split up and Sister Birks and I started street contacting, so knocking on doors and talking to people outside. I knew Sister Birks would mostly want to observe, but I made sure she participated and got out of her comfort zone because I know we only grow when we are out of our comfort zone. And she did amazing! I knocked on the first couple doors and did all the talking the first time then I told her it was her turn and although she was just as nervous as I was my first time and sometimes still am, she did it and we were able to have some really spiritual and meaningful conversations with people. I’m really grateful for the opportunity I had to take Sister Birks out on her first day here and that she was able to have a good experience. I was definitely guided by the spirit as we went out together, I wouldn’t have had the confidence or the words without that guidance so it was definitely a testimony builder for me that we can always rely on the Spirit and on our Heavenly Father and He’ll always provide for us.
Another amazing experience this week was with Miranda and her daughter Zephaniah. I don’t know if you remember, but a number of weeks ago I shared a sweet experience we had with Miranda when the message we shared with her really touched her and she told us that what we said is exactly what she needed to hear at the time. So yeah, same person. Anyways, we were sharing a message with her and her daughter (Zephaniah) this past week and near the end of the lesson, I had a prompting to share a scripture with them and invite them both to be baptized. And I was thinking, really? Because that doesn’t have anything to do with what we’re talking about and I could see it not going well. But then I got the prompting again so I just went for it and now they’re both working towards baptism on the 29th! Isn’t that awesome!? God is so good. Miranda prayed with us before we left and the peace they felt during and after the prayer she gave reconfirmed their decision to be baptized and I just feel so much love for them and am so excited for their desire to grow closer to God and their Savior Jesus Christ. I’ll keep you posted on their progress and please keep them in your prayers! We know that their is always opposition in all things so as they work towards baptism and getting on the right path, satan will be working just as hard to steer them away from the things that will make them happiest (aka baptism and the gospel of Jesus Christ).
So many good things happening here in the heartland and I’m just so grateful for the constant guidance and comfort I receive from the Spirit throughout the many experiences I’m having. There’s so much good in the world and I’m just so happy to be where I am doing the things I’m doing. Have an amazing week and always remember that you can rely on the spirit in any situation and that when we put all our trust in God, he provides miracles. Love you all!
Some pictures from the week:

chelsea Aug. 10 2015 1

Had our last supper as a district at 6:30am before transfers this last Wednesday. They truly made missionary work meaningful and fun at the same time and I couldn't have asked for a better district!
Had our last supper as a district at 6:30am before transfers this last Wednesday. They truly made missionary work meaningful and fun at the same time and I couldn’t have asked for a better district!
Stereotypical picture in front of the Kansas Wichita Mission sign in our mission office.
Stereotypical picture in front of the Kansas Wichita Mission sign in our mission office.
Sister Domingo and I with Sister Tafua and sister Birks! Such an awesome experience taking them out. They're going to be amazing missionaries.
Sister Domingo and I with Sister Tafua and sister Birks! Such an awesome experience taking them out. They’re going to be amazing missionaries.
And this is us drawing on some water balloons we made last night for a huge water balloon capture the flag game we had today with 50 or so missionaries. (I'll send a picture of that group next week)
And this is us drawing on some water balloons we made last night for a huge water balloon capture the flag game we had today with 50 or so missionaries. (I’ll send a picture of that group next week)

Love you all and make it a great week!

-Sister Wade

Leave a Reply

