And So they Biked

Hello everyone!

        Okay, so this week has been craaaazyyy. I think that since Sister Domingo and I have been doing so well these past couple weeks together and there haven’t been any real struggles, Heavenly Father wanted to give us a challenge. On Tuesday we were told we were only going to have the car every other week starting that day so guess whose been riding a bike and walking? This Sister! Haha we’ve had some pretty interesting adventures. Rain (like pouring down rain) or shine (100+ degrees) we tried to make the most out of the situation and as Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin counsels, learn to laugh during the challenges. And it definitely helps! As we learned to laugh with each other, at each other, and at ourselves it lifted our spirits and made those 10 or more mile long bike rides not feel so long. AND there’s been so much good thats come from it as well. So many miracles we would have driven by if we were in a car. One of those miracles is New York.
        Her real name is Kim, but all her friends call her New York because that’s where she’s from. We met her on the side of a street as we were biking to an appointment. New York was on the phone but when she saw us, she ended the call so she could talk to us. We got to know her and the more we talked, the more I realized that it was no accident we ran into her that day. She definitely hasn’t had an easy life, she has lost a lot of people she cares about including her twin brother and is also a survivor of 9/11. She has been through so much and I could see her desire for peace and comfort in her life. She wants to be able to let go of these events in her life and we were able to testify to her that it’s through the gospel of Jesus Christ that she can find that peace she’s looking for. We invited her to be baptized and she said that’s something she definitely wants to do! I was so excited for her! So we will be meeting with her as much as possible so that we can prepare her for getting baptized. Such an amazing woman and I’m so grateful for God’s Hand in all things. We were truly guided to New York and I look forward to seeing her grow closer to Christ and seeing the change that will take place in her life.
        Although not everything goes our way and it’s been an adventure trying to adjust to biking and walking, I’m grateful I can recognize the miracles that are happening in our lives and the tender mercies like members volunteering to give us a ride or getting extra strength to keep on pedaling. I love getting to share my knowledge that we have a loving Heavenly Father who gave us his Son, Jesus Christ, to take upon himself all the sins, pains, and sickness’ of the world so that we have a way to return to Him again. The atonement is so real and I am grateful I have the privilege of sharing this truth with others.
        Alright, last thing because I feel like all my letters are way long and I’m not even sure who takes the time to read this whole thing… but just wanted to say I hope everyone had a fun Fourth of July! There’s an awesome Mormon Message called “The Freedom To…” And it teaches that the word freedom doesn’t just mean things that we are free from, but also things that we are free to do and accomplish. Our agency, or ability to make our own choices, is one of the greatest gifts our Heavenly Father has given us and I feel that because we were given this gift, we should make the conscious decision to be our best and do our best every single day. I know that that’s something I’m always working on! And the best way I can do that is by being better today than I was yesterday.
        Love you all so much and hope it’s a great week! Here are some pics of my adventures from this week!

Having to say goodbye to our car...sad sad day.
Having to say goodbye to our car…sad sad day.
learning to laugh as we ride mile after mile
learning to laugh as we ride mile after mile
FIRST SUNFLOWER I SAW IN KANSAS (the sunflower state)!
FIRST SUNFLOWER I SAW IN KANSAS (the sunflower state)!
Doing some hardcore service for a sister who is less active. And yes the protective gear was necessary...Trust me. (Sister Domingo always has to throw up that peace sign haha)
Doing some hardcore service for a sister who is less active. And yes the protective gear was necessary…Trust me. (Sister Domingo always has to throw up that peace sign haha)
Thumbs up for helmets and biking missionary work
Thumbs up for helmets and biking missionary work

-Sister Wade

Leave a Reply

